The Nobel Room

The following winners of Nobel Prizes have had
an association with The Johns Hopkins University, either
as graduates of Johns Hopkins, or as faculty of the university
before, at the time of or subsequent to their 
receipt of the prize.

The Nobel Room was dedicated to these 
outstanding men and women on Thursday, October 22, 2015. 

(For further information, please click on the name
of each laureate)

Christian B. Anfinsen
Professor of Biology, 1982-1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1972

Peter Agre
M.D. 1974; Postdoctoral fellow, Department of Pharmacology, 1974-75; Research Associate/Instructor, Cell Biology and Anatomy, and Medicine, 1981-83; Assistant Professor, 1984-88; Associate Professor, 1988-93; Professor of Biological Chemistry and Medicine, 1993-2005, Malaria Institute, 2008–present Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2003

Richard Axel
M.D. 1971 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 2004

Joseph Erlanger
M.D. 1899; Assistant in Physiology, 1900-01; Instructor, 1901-03; Associate, 1903-04; Associate Professor, 1904-06; LL.D. 1947 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1944

Andrew Fire
Adjunct professor of biology, 1989–2009 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 2006

Robert W. Fogel
Ph.D. 1963 Nobel Prize in Economics, 1993

James Franck
Professor of Physics, 1935-38 Nobel Prize in Physics, 1925

Herbert Spencer Gasser
M.D. 1915 Nobel Prize in Physiology, 1944

Riccardo Giacconi
Professor of Physics and Astronomy, 1982-1997; Research Professor of Physics and Astronomy 1998-present Nobel Prize in Physics, 2002

Paul Greengard
Ph.D. Biophysics 1953 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 2000

Carol Greider
Daniel Nathans 
Professor and Director of Molecular Biology and Genetics; Institute of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine 1997–present Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2009

Haldan Keffer Hartline
M.D. 1927; Professor of Biophysics, 1949-54 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1967

David H. Hubel
Assistant Resident, Neurology, 1954-55; Fellow, Neuroscience, 1958-59 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1981

Simon Kuznets
Professor of Political Economy, 1954-60 Nobel Prize in Economics, 1971

Maria Goeppert-Mayer
Assistant in Physics, 1930-32; Associate, 1932-36 Nobel Prize in Physics, 1963

Merton H. Miller
Ph.D. 1952 (and honorary doctorate 1993) Nobel Prize in Economics, 1990

Thomas Hunt Morgan
Ph.D. 1890 (Zoology); LL.D. 1915 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1933

James E. Muller
M.D. 1969; Founding Member, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Boston, MA 1980 Nobel Prize in Peace, 1985

Bernard Lown
M.D. 1945; President and Founding Member, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, Boston, MA 1980 Nobel Prize in Peace, 1985

Daniel Nathans
Assistant Professor, 1962-65; Associate Professor, 1965-67; Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics, 1967-1999; Interim President, 1995-96 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1978

Adam Riess
Professor of Physics and Astronomy, 2006–present Nobel Prize in Physics, 2011

Martin Rodbell
B.A. Biology 1949 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1994

Francis Peyton Rous
A.B. 1900; M.D. 1905 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1966

Hamilton O. Smith
M.D. 1956; Assistant Professor of Microbiology, 1967-69; Associate Professor, 1969-1973; Professor, 1973-1998; Professor Emeritus 1998-present Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1978

Vincent du Vigneaud
National Research Fellow, Pharmacology 1927-28 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1955

George Hoyt Whipple
M.D. 1905; Associate Professor in Pathology, 1910-14 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1934

Torsten Wiesel
Ophthalmology, 1955-58; Assistant Professor, 1958-59 Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1981

Jody Williams
M.A. Latin American Studies (SAIS) 1984 Nobel Prize in Peace, 1997

Woodrow Wilson
Ph.D. 1886 (History) Nobel Prize in Peace, 1919